The various Ministries of Catholic Church in Tamil Nadu are operated under two major councils namely Tamil Nadu Bishops’ Council (TNBC) and Tamil Nadu Latin Bishops’ Council (TNLBC). They  are implemented through various commissions under the chairmanship of a bishop and a secretary. Every year, the annual report of the each commission is submitted to the TNBC and TNLBC in their annual meeting. It is also published in a book form by the Deputy Secretary, in Chennai. The bishops evaluate the report and give the guidelines for the future ministry of each commission. The permissions are also granted to those proposals or suggestions as per the discretion of the bishops in their private meeting.


  1. Bible
  2. Liturgy
  3. Education
  4. Justice, Peace and Development
  5. Evangelisation and Catholic Charismatic Renewal
  6. Catechetics
  7. Labour
  8. Family
  9. Health Care
  10. Vocation
  11. Laity
  12. Youth
  13. SC/ST
  14. BC/MBC/DNC
  15. Dialogue and Ecumenism
  16. Women
  17. Anpiam (BEC)
  18. Social Communications